AFC Annual Awards 2019 held in Hong Kong

Photo: Chris Lau (offside.hk)

The best and brightest of the Asian football family descended into Hong Kong on December 2nd, 2019, to reward the outstanding individuals, teams, and managers from across the Asian Football Confederation. Hong Kong have a long lasting relationship with the AFC. Being a founding member, the city was also the birthplace of the Confederation’s Secretariat in 1954 and Hong Kong even hosted the first men’s AFC Asian Cup in 1956 as well as the inaugural edition of the AFC Women’s AFC Cup in 1975.

The awards are not simply restricted to those who grace the football field, as there are also awards for those who work tirelessly behind the scenes to develop the ‘beautiful game’ at grassroots level, which in turn offers hopes and aspirational dreams to millions of players of all backgrounds across the continent.

The event was also attended by both AFC president, Sheikh Salman Bin Ebrahim Al Khalifa, and
FIFA president, Gianni Infantino. Star glamour was represented by Spanish legend Xavi on behalf of his club Al Sadd as one of their players, Akram Hassan Afif, eventually picked up the men’s player of the year title. There was also a brief performance by singer Sally Yeh.

The Winners 2019

Diamond of Asia (for the development of the game in Asia):  His Majesty Seri Paduka Baginda the Yang di-Pertuan Agong Al-Sultan Abdullah Ri’ayatuddin Al-Mustafa Billah Shah Ibni Almarhum Sultan Haji Ahmad Shah Al-Musta’in Billah  (Malaysia)

AFC Member Association of the Year: The award is given to member associations in recognition of their professional administration and governance and is split into three sections, ‘Inspiring’, ‘Developing’ and ‘Aspiring’.

‘Inspiring’ Winner: Japan
‘Developing’ Winner: Hong Kong
‘Aspiring’ Winner: Guam

AFC President Recognition Awards for Grassroots Football: The award recognizes member Associations for their efforts in establishing exciting, significant and creative football activities.

“Inspiring”: China
“Aspiring”: Brunei
“Developing”: Singapore

AFC Futsal Player of the Year: Tomoki Yoshikawa (Japan)

AFC Coach of the Year (Men): Chung Jungyong (South Korea)

AFC Coach of the Year (Women): Asako Takaura (Japan)

AFC Player of the Year (Men): Akram Hassan Afif (Qatar and Al Sadd)

AFC Player of the Year (Women): Saki Kumagai (Japan and Olympique Lyonnais)

AFC Youth Player of the Year (Women): Jun Endo (Japan)

AFC Youth Player of the Year (Men): Lee Kang-in (South Korea)

AFC Asian International Player of the Year: Son Heung-Min (South Korea)

AFC Futsal Player of the Year: Tomoki Yoshikawa (Japan)


Photos by Chris Lau





To Top